Annoying habits?

I have shot a bit of test video which I won’t be posting, but it has been interesting to hear myself for the first time on film. I noticed I have a tendency to smack my lips together. Not sure if that is because I am nervous or just trying to fill the silence with something. As I listened to myself, I couldn’t believe how annoying that sounded. Wow. I was surprised how well my camera mic picked up that little noise.

I wondered…do I do that a lot in daily life? I am on the phone a lot at work. Now that I am aware of that, I am listening to myself closer and have been catching myself making that little lip smacking sound every once in awhile when I am talking to someone.

Another thing I need to work on is slowing down my speech so that I can be understood. Even though I am trying to keep my videos short, I want to avoid sounding like a used car salesperson, but I also don’t want to put my viewers to sleep. I need to find a happy medium.

Have you noticed any annoying speech habits that you always have to edit out before you post videos to YouTube? What have you done to rid yourself of those habits?

homeabout & contactYouTube

Leave a Reply

