Over 40 and losing weight!

As we age, our bodies naturally slow down. I have noticed that it is harder for my body to recover from a food binge or a drinking binge. I know I can’t turn back the clock, but I am adopting a healthier diet and working out more consistently.

As I progress, I am discovering some things. Age is no excuse for being unhealthy. You can lose weight as you age. YOU are in control. Of course, we can’t pop pills to add years to our lives, but there are things you can do to make the most of your life while you exist on this planet.

Now that I have gotten serious about BOTH diet and exercise, I am finally seeing results! I will be honest. It hasn’t been easy. Willpower is key. I have learned to say NO when faced with unhealthy food choices. I don’t let myself get hungry which helps me say no to unhealthy foods because I am full.

Stocking the pantry and fridge with healthy food is a must. The only treat I allow myself is the occasional dark chocolate square. I do have a weekend cheat day. I have to make room for this splurge in my diet in order to maintain my sanity. I eat carbs in the form of oatmeal and protein bars before workouts. I do not eat bread (it is easy to order burgers without buns and wastes less food). I no longer indulge in alcoholic beverages on weeknights. I do drink on Saturdays because I enjoy it. Life is about enjoying yourself.

I joined a new gym recently that focuses on HIIT classes. While I love this format, the early workouts are a bit challenging. I am NOT a morning person. When I absolutely cannot pry myself out of bed (I am a mere human after all), I do treadmill interval runs at the YMCA. I include a bit of walking in between bursts of running. I make sure to get to a point of near failure during my fast intervals and then I slow back down to a fast walk to recover.

I jumped on the scale this morning on an empty stomach and discovered that I had lost a few pounds. It is a slow process, but I am encouraged by the results I have seen so far. A friend recently commented that she could tell I had lost weight. I looked in the mirror today and noticed a slight difference in my face.

I will take some before photos of myself so that I have images for comparison when I reach my goal weight. I just need to do some landscaping first. 🙂

Stay tuned!

“Caffeine + Makeup = MAGIC!”

home – about & contact – YouTube

Leave a Reply

